Bookish Posts

Off the Shelf – #2

Hi everyone!

‘Off the Shelf’ is a twice monthly post where I regain control of my TBR and focus on those books that have been overlooked for too long.

A years long reading slump and love for all things new and shiny has resulted in a number of books languishing on my bookshelves for far longer than they should. Twice a month I will select a book that I have owned for more than year, talk a little bit about the book and why I purchased it, and then actually read it 😊

My second pick is…

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

img_0489

What is it all about?

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time is a murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Boone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down. (blurb from back of book).

Why did you buy it?

This had been a book that I had wanted to buy for a really long time, a book I would look at every time I went into a bookshop but never quite got around to actually buying. A few years ago I bought the book, but could still not get round to reading!

How long has the book been on the shelf?

I have owned this book for more than two years 😊 I think I got intimidated by the book, and this stopped me from reading it.

Why now?

I was lucky enough to see the Β play in London a few months ago and I loved it. Since then I have been really keen to read this book up and have only delayed in case it did not match up to my experience of the play. Now feels like a great time to read as I have just finished ready the Grisha trilogy, and it is time for something completely different.

 

Have you read Curious Incident? Have you got any books that have sat on your shelves too long? Let me know in the comments below.

Sarah

Leave a Reply

