Bookish Posts

Hype or Like Friday: Books I’m Thankful For

Hi everyone!

Hype or Like Friday is a weekly meme and goodreads group that was created by Jillian @ Rant and Rave about Books, Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads and Britt @ Geronimo Reads.

The November book of the month is Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. The theme for November is all about what we’re thankful for. You can check out the discussion on the goodreads page! This weeks topic is Books I’m Thankful For – Think about the books you can’t live without!

There are so many books that I am thankful for and so many different reasons to be thankful for them. The books I have chosen might be books that resonated with what was happening in my life at the time, or that touched my emotions, or that introduced me to an author that is now a must-buy for me. In no particular order…

To Kill a Mockingbird

816815

I was first introduced to this book at school and I loved it. Atticus was everything I had ever dreamed of in a father and I yearned for a similar relationship with my own father.

But there was also so much more – How I raged against the injustice! How I cried when I realised that there was no hope that right would prevail! How I wished Scout and Jem and Boo were my friends!

American Gods

11768366

This was the book that introduced me to Neil Gaiman – and what an introduction. From the very first chapter I knew that this was going to be an unforgettable book.

On Writing

999563

I love Stephen King and could not pass up the chance to understand how he approaches his craft. For a girl who just knew that she wanted to write but had no clue how to get started this book made me feel that writing was a viable option for me (if I could only stop procrastinating!)

A Monster Calls

8621462

This is a wonderful book that left me weeping. Even thinking about it now brings me close to tears. But it is also a book full of hope and strength and I really think that everyone should read it. It’s a challenging, heart-wrenching, thought-provoking book.

Highly Illogical Behaviour

29231988

A recent read for me, I read this book in pretty much one setting and loved every minute of it.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

72193

I don’t really know what to say about this one other than – because it’s Harry Potter, and without this one we would not have Harry Potter.

Pride and Prejudice

1886

I grew up very close to a house that Jane Austen had lived in so it was practically impossible for me to avoid this book. This was the first Jane Austen that I read and I have re-read this book sooo many times. It is the book that I turn to when I need to switch up the genre I am reading.

Twilight

41865

This was the book that got me back into reading after a reading slump that lasted for years! It was recommended to me by a friend and I bought the book and read it in a single sitting. Whilst my taste has definitely changed since then (I can definitely live without it now) I am thankful for picking this book up, as I am not sure if I would be reading as regularly or blogging with you lovely lot without it!

Let me know what you think of my list in the comments below. What books are you thankful for?

Sarah

One thought on “Hype or Like Friday: Books I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

