Bookish Posts

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve added to my TBR List Lately

Hi everyone!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. The theme this week is Ten Books I’ve added to my TBR List Lately.

Since I have been trying to take control of my TBR I have developed quite a strict process for updating my goodreads lists 😊. My ‘to-read’ list is only updated when I purchase or am gifted a book.

Here are the most recent additions to my TBR:

img_0494

The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
This was an impulse buy – largely based on the cover. I remember reading this as a child, but have no idea what happened to my book.

What’s it all about?*
One day Mole pokes his nose out of his burrow and discovers that the world is an exciting place. He meets brave Ratty, kind old Badger, and the rascally Mr. Toad, and together they go adventuring.

Watership Down – Richard Adams

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
This was another impulse buy, based on memories of reading this book as a child. I know it will make me cry, but sometimes I want to read a book that can do just that.

What’s it all about?
Fiver was only a small rabbit, but he had a sixth sense and foresaw that disaster was about to destroy the warren. Few believed him. Led by his brother Hazel, a small band of rabbits set out on a perilous journey to find a safe home

Gobbolino, the Witch’s Cat – Ursula Moray Williams

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
Sorry, another impulse buy because of my memories of reading this book as a child.

What’s it all about?
Gobbolino doesn’t want to be a witch’s cat. He wants to be an ordinary kitchen cat, and site by the fire, catch mice and watch the baby. So while his sister, Sootica, learns how to ride a broomstick and turn mice into toads, Gobbolino goes in search of a kind family to live with.

Something in Between – Melissa de la Cruz

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
I have started to hear a lot about this book, particularly on BookTube.

What’s it all about?
When your country doesn’t want you there, how do you know where you belong? Jasmine de los Santos has been pushed by her immigrant parents to over-achieve and be the best she can be. She’s thrilled to be named a finalist for a big college scholarship. But when she brings home the paperwork, she learns that she and all her family are in the country illegally.

We Were Liars – E Lockhart

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
Another book that I have heard a lot about on BookTube.

What’s it all about?
We are the Liars.
We are beautiful, privileged and live a life of carefree luxury.
We are cracked and broken.
A story of love and romance.
A tale of tragedy.
Which are lies?
Which is truth?
You decide.

30750058

Replica – Lauren Oliver

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
This came from a subscription box. This was my first subscription box and I am a massive fan.

What’s it all about?
Replica is a “flip book” that contains two narratives in one.
Lyra’s story begins in the Haven Institute, a building tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida that from a distance looks serene and even beautiful. But up close the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story.
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals for as long as she can remember. A lonely teen, her life is circumscribed by home, school, and her best friend, April. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family’s past

img_0498

The Age of Bowie – Paul Morley

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
I have been a fan of Bowie since my early teens and was devastated by his death in January. I saw this book and decided I would like to learn more about him.

What’s it all about?
The definitive story of Bowie that explores how he worked, played, aged, structured his ideas, invented the future and entered history as someone who could and would never be forgotten.

Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
I have recently read the Grisha trilogy and loved it. I already own Six of Crows and could not hold out on purchasing the second in the duology.

What’s it all about?
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off the most daring heist imaginable.
But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re fighting for their lives.
Double-crossed and badly weakened, they’re low on resources, allies and hope.

Darkness Follows – LA Weatherly

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
I really enjoyed the Angel trilogy and have the first book in this series.

What’s it all about?
Welcome to a ‘perfect’ world. Where war is illegal, where harmony rules. And where your date of birth marks your destiny. But nothing is perfect. And in a world this broken, who can Amity trust?

Lord Foul’s Bane – Stephen R Donaldson

Why did I add it to my to-read shelf?
This was a recommendation from a work colleague. He was very passionate when talking about the series, so I decided to try it out. This is a very divisive book, but I wanted to see what it was all about.

What’s it all about?
He called himself Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever because he dared not believe in the strange alternate world in which he suddenly found himself.
Yet the Land tempted him. He had been sick; now he seemed better than ever before. Through no fault of his own, he had been outcast, unclean, a pariah. Now he was regarded as a reincarnation of the Land’s greatest hero–Berek Halfhand.

 

What books have you recently added to your TBR? Have you read any of the books on my TBR? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments.

Sarah

*What’s it all about? sections are extracts from the goodreads blurb for each of the books.

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve added to my TBR List Lately

  1. I admire your restraint, I’m constantly find new books to add to my Goodreads TBR list, or my library holds or wishlist. No self control… Just finished reading Crooked Kingdom from my library, and really enjoyed it–love those covers, too! My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

