ARC

ARC Review: Corrupt Me – Jillian Quinn

CORRUPT ME 300dpi Banner.png

This is the first time that I have participated in a blog tour and I am really happy that my first experience of one was for Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn. Many of you will know Jillian from her fantastic blog – Rant and Rave About Books. I was really pleased when I was accepted to take part in the tour and excited to read a novel that was totally different to anything I had read before. The following is my honest review of Corrupt Me.

corrupt-me-book-cover

Synopsis (Goodreads blurb)

Izzie Rinaldi has everything going for her. All she has to do is make it through her senior year of college, and then she’ll be off to law school, one step closer to assuming her position at the head of her family’s empire. After a chance encounter with the campus bad boy, Izzie can’t get him out of her head.

Luca Marchese, the smooth-talking son of the most notorious man in Philadelphia, is used to getting what he wants. He hasn’t forgotten the girl he knew as a child, and now that he has Izzie’s attention, Luca will stop at nothing to have her.

Luca’s defiance of the law turns Izzie on more than she cares to admit. She wants Luca to corrupt her in every way possible, despite his reputation as the king of one-night stands. Their attraction is undeniable, but their desire for one another isn’t enough for Izzie to overlook visits from federal agents and the potential ruin of her family.

Linked to Luca and a criminal underworld, Izzie discovers she’s more like him than she thought. But a future with Luca could mean swapping her diamond bracelets for a pair of handcuffs.

dash

*** I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review ***

I really enjoyed this book. Really, really enjoyed it. It came to me at a time when I had been reading a lot of Fantasy and I was looking for something totally different to read. I find it difficult to find Contemporary novels that I enjoy and there a quite a number that end up in the DNF pile (two chances and then they are out!). This is a fast read, but the book draws you in and I enjoyed the pacing. I was hooked early on, and I just wanted to keep reading. Here are some of the reasons I enjoyed it so much:

Characters
How nice it was to have a female protagonist who did not go round biting her lip, lacking confidence or constantly seeking validation from a male character. Izzie came across as a confident and capable woman and that was refreshing to read. She could definitely hold her own, and was a feisty, independent woman.
At first glance it was tempting to dismiss Luca as a stereotype, a womanizing frat boy, but there was so much more to his character. If you do not like Luca in the first few chapters, just wait. He does make mistakes but as the story progresses he reveals himself to be a much more rounded character with real feelings. Is he a bad boy? Absolutely, but his true feelings become apparent as the story progresses.

Relationship
At the heart of this story is a volatile relationship. There is no insta love here – there is a history that frames the first interactions between the characters. The couple are well matched – they challenge each other. This is not an easy romance, but that made it refreshing to read. Jillian also made sure the relationship remained true to the individual characters, and the verbal sparring that takes place at the start of the book is replaced by a passionate, sexy romance.

Story
This is a totally different genre from the books I normally read, but that made it a refreshing change for me. I have never read a Mafia story before, so did not have preconceptions about the story. I liked the twists and the turns in the story and I really enjoyed the romance. Not your stereotypical boys meets girl, but it worked really well.

This book is part of a series (Philly Corruption), but can be read as a standalone. I for one am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series 🙂

Have you read Corrupt Me? What did you think? Let me know in the comments below.

name

Find me on Bloglovin’GoodreadsInstagramTwitter

dash

Author Bio

jillian-quinn

about-jillian-quinn-bio-graphic

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Corrupt Me – Jillian Quinn

Leave a Reply

