Bookish Posts · Off the shelf

Off the Shelf – #7

Hi everyone!

‘Off the Shelf’ is a fortnightly post where I attempt to regain control of my TBR by selecting a book that has sat on my bookshelves for over a year. I talk a little bit about the book and why I purchased it and then actually read it 😊

My next book off the shelf is…

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

img_0632

What is it all about?

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself (Goodreads blurb)

Why did I buy it?

A couple of years ago I went through a bit of a Holly Black phase. I bought a few of her books at the same time, but have only read a couple of them so far.

How long has it been on the shelf?

At least 2 years ☺️ I bought this at the same time I bought Doll Bones and The White Cat and never got round to actually reading it.

Why now?

I am currently reading a lot of series and was looking for something stand alone. I have been tempted to read this one a number of times, but it has been constantly pushed out of the way by a new, shiny book. This sounds totally different to the fantasy novels that I have been reading and I cannot wait to give it a try.

Have you read any books by Holly Black? What do you think of them? Let me know in the comments below.

name

Find me on Bloglovin’GoodreadsInstagram – Twitter

2 thoughts on “Off the Shelf – #7

Leave a Reply

