Bookish Posts · Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole – #1

Hi everyone!

I think I am a bit late to this one, but I saw a post on the brilliant Rattle the Stars blog, and I just knew I should take part.  Down the TBR Hole is a meme hosted by Lia at Lost in a Story and is all about regaining control of your TBR. It is as simple as sorting your Goodreads to-read list into date order, starting with the oldest first, selecting the books and deciding whether to keep on your TBR or to remove.

As you know, I am trying to read all my books, with a focus on the books that I have owned for more than one year. The truth is that these books have sat on my shelf for a reason; maybe I bought on impulse, or maybe my reading tastes have changed, there are even a few books I have DNF’d before. This seemed a great way to have a close look at my TBR and remove books that no longer interest me.

I only loaded my books onto Goodreads in 2016 and as I drafted this post it quickly became apparent that I had added to Goodreads in a haphazard order. So, my oldest books on Goodreads are not necessarily my oldest books. I tried to re-sort Goodreads, but it all seemed to get quite complicated so I have decided to go with the order as is. This might impact the number of books I Keep / Give Away in the first few posts, but I am going in with an open mind.

So, let’s get started…

Antigoddess – Kendare Blake

18163294

I bought this book just after I had read Anna Dressed in Blood. Goodreads blurbs the book as a story about ancient gods, modern love and an epic tale of survival. What’s not to love about that?!

Verdict: Keep

Prisoner of Night and Fog & Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke- Anne Blankman

2400087824906066

This duology was a BookTube recommendation. I have never read anything by Anne Blankman, but these just looked like really good reads.

Verdict: Keep

Cogheart – Peter Bunzl

29939780

 This was an impulse buy, largely because of the cover. As I have recently bought a second Cogheart book, I really feel that I should get on with reading this one.

Verdict: Keep

The Walled City – Ryan Graudin

29082479

 Another book about survival against the odds, this one appealed to me because it appears to be (loosely) based on a real place, although reimagined in a fantasy style. Beyond that I do not really know anything about the book – but it sound really appealing.

Verdict: Keep

Wolf by Wolf – Ryan Graudin

26092473

 The Goodreads blurb for this is Imagine THE BOOK THIEF meeting X-MEN by way of an epic motorcycle road race, in a display of the strength and power of the third Reich, across a Europe where Hitler and the Axis have won the war. And that is why I have to read this book 😀

Verdict: Keep

Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

26047310

There was massive hype for this book when it first came out, and I was totally suckered in. The premise looks really interesting and I have recently purchased the second book, so I have no real option about this one ☺️

Verdict: Keep

Ulysses – James Joyce

6957527

 Having moved to Dublin and only read Dubliners by James Joyce, I thought I should give this one a try. This book was sold to me as an unreadable book – I like a challenge 😉 I am not sure that I will be reading this one any time soon though, as I seem to be reading fantasy or contemporary reads. I may have to take part in a challenge to read one classic a month.

Verdict: Keep

When We Collided – Emery Lord

27235365

 This was bought purely on the basis of the cover. It is a contemporary, so definitely on trend for my current reading habits. Maybe a summer read…

Verdict: Keep

Unhooked – Lisa Maxwell

21518344

This is based in Neverland, but rather than a straight re-telling of Peter Pan this seems to turn a lot of what we know on its head. I do like a retelling, so am interested to see where this one goes.

Verdict: Keep

dash

Hmmm, so that did not go too well…🤔 Although I am not ready to give away any of these books, it has reminded me of some really great books on my TBR that I need to get around to reading.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? Have you been taking part in ‘Down the TBR Hole’? Let me know what you think in the comments below.

See you soon

Signature

Find me on Bloglovin’GoodreadsInstagramTwitter

Leave a Reply

