Bookish Posts · Off the shelf

Off the Shelf – #9

Hi everyone!

‘Off the Shelf’ is a monthly post where I attempt to gain control of my TBR by selecting a book that has sat on my bookshelves for over a year. I talk a little bit about the book and why I purchased it and then I actually read it.

My next book off the shelf is…

The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks

1250158

What is it all about? (Goodreads blurb)

How far can love endure?

Noah Calhoun has just returned from World War Two. Attempting to escape the ghosts of battle, he tries to concentrate on restoring an old plantation home to its former glory. And yet he is haunted by images of the beautiful girl he met there fourteen years before, a girl who captured his heart like no other.

But when these distant memories begin to slide into reality, the passion that had lain still is ignited once more. Though so much is in their way, the miraculous force of their love refuses to fade.

Why did I buy it?

I bought this book around the time that I watched the film for the first time. I did not watch the film at the cinema, so it was probably a couple of years after that film first came out. Around that time it felt like there were loads of Nicholas Sparks adaptations out there, and I was curious to see what his writing was like.

How long has it been on the shelf?

A really long time ☺️ At least seven years – I remember being really keen to read one of his books when I purchased it, but since then have not really been in the mood.

Why now?

This month I saw a First Chapter First Paragraph post over at mistysbookspace. Misty had written about another book by Nicholas Sparks and her enthusiasm for his books made me want to read this book again. I just knew it would be my next ‘Off the Shelf.’

dash

Have you read any books by Nicholas Sparks? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below.

See you soon

Signature

Find me on Bloglovin’ – GoodreadsInstagramTwitter

One thought on “Off the Shelf – #9

  1. Thank you so much for linking back to my blog!! I can’t wait for you to read this book and to know what you think of it!! I hope you love it/him just as much as I do!! Happy reading!!💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

