Bookish Posts · Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole – #4

Hi everyone!

Down the TBR Hole is a meme hosted by Lia at Lost in a Story and is all about regaining control of your TBR. It is as simple as sorting your Goodreads to-read list into date order, starting with the oldest first, selecting the books and deciding whether to keep on your TBR or to remove.

As you know, I am trying to read all my books, with a focus on the books that I have owned for more than one year. The truth is that these books have sat on my shelf for a reason; maybe I bought on impulse, or maybe my reading tastes have changed, there are even a few books I have DNF’d before. This seemed a great way to have a close look at my TBR and remove books that no longer interest me.

So, let’s get started…

Noughts & Crosses Series – Majorie Blackman

 

Another classic example of me buying lots of books in a series in one go, rather than trying the first one to see if I like it. I will try the first one and will give away these books if I do not like that one.

Verdict: Keep

Villette – Charlotte Bronte

IMG_0707

I bought this book when I was trying to read more classics. I haven’t got round to it yet, but am sure I will at some point 😊

Verdict: Keep

One Summer: America 1927 – Bill Bryson

IMG_0708

 I have read a few Bill Bryson books and really enjoyed them. This is the story of one year in America and it sounds like a fascinating read.

Verdict: Keep

The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

IMG_0709

People were raving about this book when it first came out, which piqued my interest. In the end I bought it on a whim, and it still intrigues me.

Verdict: Keep

The Children’s Book – A.S. Byatt

IMG_0710
This was an impulse buy, but there is something about this book that intrigues me. I think this is unlike any other book I have read.

Verdict: Keep

Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote

IMG_0711

I bought this book at a time when I decided I was going to like Truman Capote. I have not read yet (and have not even seen the film!) I count this book as a classic, so will get round to reading some day 😊

Verdict: Keep

The Maze Runner – James Dashner

IMG_0712

 I cannot even remember why I bought this book. I have seen a lot of varying reviews for the series, and I am not in the mood to get started on yet another dystopian series. As I only own the first in the series, I do not feel that I need to try this one.

Verdict: Giveaway

The Sisters who would be Queen – Leanda de Lisle

IMG_0713

 I love reading about the Tudor period, whether historical fiction or non-fiction. Lady Jane Grey is one of my favourites to read about from this period, so there is no real option but to keep this book.

Verdict: Keep

dash

I think I am getting the hang of this 🙂 I still don’t like giving away books, but I focus on the fact that someone will get enjoyment from them and that helps. For a while I have felt overwhelmed by my TBR, but it really does feel like I am starting to regain control.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? Have you been taking part in ‘Down the TBR Hole’? Let me know what you think in the comments below.

See you soon

Signature

Find me on Bloglovin’GoodreadsInstagramTwitter

2 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole – #4

Leave a Reply

