Bookish Posts · Off the shelf

Off the Shelf – #10

Hi everyone!

‘Off the shelf’ is a monthly post where I attempt to regain control of my TBR by selecting a book that has sat on my bookshelves for over a year. I talk a little bit about the book and why I purchased it and then I actually read it 😊.

My next book off the shelf is…

The Tales of Beedle the Bard – JK Rowling

IMG_0814

What is it all about? (Goodreads blurb)

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, a Wizarding classic, first came to Muggle readers’ attention in the book known as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Now, thanks to Hermione Granger’s new translation from the ancient runes, we present this stunning edition with an introduction, notes, and illustrations by J. K. Rowling, and extensive commentary by Albus Dumbledore.

Never before have Muggles been privy to these richly imaginative tales: “The Wizard and the Hopping Pot,” “The Fountain of Fair Fortune,” “The Warlock’s Hairy Heart,” “Babbitty Rabbitty and Her Cackling Stump,” and of course, “The Tale of the Three Brothers.” But not only are they the equal of fairy tales we now know and love, reading them gives new insight into the world of Harry Potter.

Why did I buy it?

I bought this book because I am a sucker for anything Harry Potter 😊.

How long has it been on the shelf?

Well, I bought this book around the time it was published, maybe a year later. So, it is likely that this book has been on my shelves for at least seven years!

Why now?

I will be reading this book with my son, who also loves Harry Potter.

dash

Have you read The Tales of Beedle the Bard? Have you got any books on your TBR that have been there too long? How do you decide what books to read next? Let me know in the comments below.

See you soon

Signature

Find me on Bloglovin’ – GoodreadsInstagramTwitter

 

Leave a comment